In February 2008 this English-language database contained over 35,000 citations from 1986 onward. The database indexes six types of materials: books and government documents; articles appearing in edited books; periodical and journal articles; Masters theses and Ph.D. dissertations as well as a few B.A. theses and honors papers; conference papers; and videocassettes. The database indexes current and past conference papers from the following conferences and indexes:
• African Literature Association
• African Studies Association
• American Anthropological Association
• Cairo Demographic Centre
• Canadian Association of African Studies
• International AIDS Conference
• Middle East Studies Association
• Population Association of America
• Africana Conference Paper Index (Northwestern University)
The database is the outgrowth of a three-volume work published in 1989 by Greenwood Press that indexed materials on African women published during the International Women's Decade, 1976-1985. In November of 1999 the ability to index hyperlinked documents from the Internet became a reality in the database. This increased greatly the scope of the database and allowed the indexing and viewing of documents from the Internet. From June 2008 the African Studies Centre Leiden (ASCL), Leiden, The Netherlands hosts this database.

A popular resource found in many scholarly settings worldwide, Academic Search Premier is a leading multidisciplinary research database. It provides acclaimed full-text journals, magazines and other valuable resources.
It provides comprehensive content, including PDF backfiles to 1975 for more than 120 journals and searchable cited references for more than 1,000 titles.

PsycARTICLES offers access to the complete electronic catalog of APA peer-reviewed journals—back to Volume 1, Issue 1 for most titles— giving researchers the ability to explore more than a century of trusted research across the full collection. Updated weekly, the database includes First Posting of the latest articles, ensuring access to the newest findings and scholarship.

PsycINFO remains one of the most current resources available for exploring and locating behavioral and social science research. It includes features such as First Posting for journal records ensuring access to the earliest publication of a journal article. PsycINFO offers a broad view of the behavioral and social sciences, and represents a time-tested core of research literature and findings necessary for any comprehensive psychology collection. Coverage spans from the 17th century to the present, charting the evolution of psychology over time through peer-reviewed journals, books, and dissertations.

SocINDEX with Full Text is a full-text research database covering sociology and related disciplines. It features hundreds of full-text journals and millions of records with subject headings from a sociological thesaurus.
SocINDEX with Full Text covers a broad range of studies, including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, religion, racial studies and social work.
In addition to full-text journals, SocINDEX with Full Text contains informative abstracts for core coverage journals dating as far back as 1895. Complete with extensive indexing for books, monographs, conference papers and other non-periodical content sources, the database also includes searchable cited references.

Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.

HeinOnline is a premier online database containing more than 150 million pages and 160,000 titles of legal history and government documents in a fully searchable, image-based format.

Electronic access to a comprehensive archive of articles from journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, mathematics, ecology and botany.

Ovid is the on-line service which hundreds of hospitals and medical schools around the world use for integrated information solutions to access key bibliographic databases, full text journals, evidence-based medicine resources and reference texts. With over 80 bibliographic databases in addition to MEDLINE, Ovid offers total integration. Many databases (including MEDLINE) are hyperlinked to each other and to over 350 journals in the Journals@Ovid full text database. The University Libraries' subscription includes full text access to the Ovid Biomedical Collection (15 journals), the Core Biomedical Collection (15 journals), the New England Journal of Medicine, Books@OVID, Cancerlit, Evidence-Based Medicine Reviews, Medline, and PsycArticles.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.

Anyone wishing to know what has been written on the subject of women's participation in political life or on a particular aspect of this question is faced with a challenge: not so much the challenge of the scarcity of bibliographical references, but rather that of the difficulty of gaining access to a reliable database containing a broad selection of bibliographical references grouped by affinities. The bibliographic database Women in Politics seeks to fill this gap. It has been developed with the contribution of the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP). The database is regularly up-dated to take account of new books and articles produced throughout the world on the subject of women in politics. It covers titles representing international, regional, country-by-country as well as thematic perspectives.